Your browser is not supported.

Please enable JavaScript to use all features of this site.

33rd International Congress of German Ophthalmic Surgeons
June, 18th – 20th 2020, Nürnberg Convention Center, NCC Ost

DOC 2020 - cancellation

Dear chairmen and speakers ,
Dear congress visitors and exhibitors,

after careful consideration, the Executive Board of the DOC has decided to cancel the 33rd Congress of German Ophthalmic Surgeons to be held in Nuremberg from June 18 - 20, 2020.

In view of the current risk situation regarding the spread of the SARS-CoV-2 virus and the situation in Europe, it is not possible to perform a congress with more than 6,000 participants in June 2020.

The dynamic development of the COVID-19 pandemic has prompted the responsibles in the federal and state ministries to prohibit events in the interest of public safety. In addition, a large number of hospitals have issued travel bans or bans on the participation of their employees in congresses until the end of June, so that without at least a sufficient number of speakers and participants, the congress cannot take place.

The Presidium of the DOC considers itself to have a special ethical and moral responsibility to exclude a possible risk of infection with subsequent potential quarantine of a majority of the staff within the ophthalmology sector in the German-speaking countries of Europe, including their managers.

The DOC Congress continues to be an important resource for your further education in ophthalmology and especially in ophthalmic surgery. We will keep you up to date in the coming weeks.

The Program Committee of the DOC will prospectivley decide to assume the scientific program of 2020 in large parts, with some corresponding updates to the DOC 2021.

Regarding to all further organizational questions we will shortly contact participants, speakers and industry partners separately.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you next year, June 17 - 19, 2021 in Nuremberg.

Good health to you, your family and your friends.
Take good care of yourself!

President DOC Honorary President DOC
Dr. Armin Scharrer Prof. Dr. Günther K. Krieglstein
Program Committee Advisory Board
Prof. Dr. Hansjürgen Agostini Prof. Dr. Susanne Binder
Priv.-Doz. Dr. Silvia Bopp Dr. Eduard Haefliger
Prof. Dr. Thomas S. Dietlein Prof. Dr. Bernd Kirchhof
Prof. Dr. Christoph Hintschich Priv.-Doz. Dr. Katharina Krepler
Dr. Peter Hoffmann Prof. Dr. Thomas Neuhann
Prof. Dr. Michael C. Knorz  
Prof. Dr. Thomas Kohnen  
Prof. Dr. Rupert M. Menapace  


DOC video library

Please review our privacy policy before using YouTube.

Play video